Montpoupon Castle & Hunting museum
- distance : 19km
The château takes its name from a Germanic tribe, the Poppo, who settled here on the rocky promontory at the time of Charlemagne. The site thus came to be known as Mons Poppo (the hill of the Poppos).With the passage of time this evolved into Montpoupon.
At the end of the Middle Ages, the château passed into the hands of the Lords de Prie et de Buzançais, a family who were to leave their mark. In 1460, Antoine de Prie and his wife, Madeleine d’Amboise restored the château which had been left in poor condition at the end of the Hundred Years War.
In 1763 the Marquis de Tristan, Mayor of Orléans acquired the property. The Marquis turned his hand to restoring the château to a semblance of its former glory. However, his initiative was curtailed by the onset of the Revolution ; fortunately despite the terror of the time, only the chapel was destroyed and the château remained intact.
In the 19th century, in 1840 to be precise, the château underwent further transformation at the hands of its new owner, M. de Farville with the construction of the present outbuildings.
Finally, in 1857, Jean Baptiste de la Motte Saint Pierre acquired the estate. At the turn of the century the family began the work which was to restore the château to the Renaissance appearance it has to-day.
In memory of his family, the present owner, the Count of Louvencourt, nephew of the above, has set up the magnificent Musée du veneur (Hunting Museum) in the outbuildings.
Do not miss also the guided tour "on the steps of Louise" chambermaid at the beginning of the XXè century which will make you discover the secrets of the castel the time of a visit. Registrations recommanded for the visits.